Lower Shuckburgh is owned by the Shuckburgh Estate, based at Shuckburgh Hall in Upper Shuckburgh. The village has approximately 25 houses plus outlying farms and the church of St John the Baptist, situated towards one end of the village. There are no other public meeting places. The church was built on the grounds of the previous one, in 1864 by John Croft, for Sir Frederick Shuckburgh. It is a Victorian building featured as one of Pevsner’s “England’s Thousand Best Churches”. Its unique exterior and interior Moorish architectural style attracts many visitors.
There is no car park, but the neighbouring farmyard can be used with permission for bigger events. There is electricity with overhead heaters, but no water or toilet facilities which can be difficult at times.
The regular events include afternoon teas, with delicious cakes, every Saturday afternoon throughout the summer. These usually conclude with the summer fete which attracts local stall-holders selling their crafts. There is also a successful Christmas Tree Festival and Fair. Both are well supported by people from the village and members of the local churches in the group.
A monthly midweek BCP service of Holy Communion is held, with a small congregation. A popular Christmas Carol Service is held on Christmas Eve, attracting people from further afield, and a family service on Easter Day.