The manor house in Wormleighton became a semi-defensive Tudor structure built of red brick and of handsome proportions encompassing a large courtyard or quadrangle and two other yards used for shearing and caring for the livestock. The house is depicted in the Sheldon tapestry bearing the date of 1588 which is to be seen in Warwick museum. The fine Tudor building and strong gatehouse are depicted from the south with the square tower of the church rising behind. The original gatehouse was clearly more impressive than the one that is there today as shown in the Sheldon tapestry dated 1588 now in the Warwick museum. There was-on what is now the site of the 10 stone-built Victorian Estate Cottages, known as "the ten commandments"- the old wool yard and the great barn where sheep sales were held. Many of England's richest land owners came to buy sheep including Robert Dudley Earl of Leicester who came in 1571 and Lord Burghley. There was also a large garden and numerous outbuildings and the site was also famous for possessing a large bowling green, which was sited at the south side of the present day Wormleighton Hall. Incidentally, the erection of any building that - like Wormleighton Manor - had any form of battlements was subject to a kind of royal planning permission system.